Stickman's Weekly Column

The Stickman weekly column was first published in April of 2001. Without anywhere on the site to publish news from expat society and the expat bar areas which may be time-sensitive, the Stickman weekly column was born. I never thought it would last but now more than 10 years later what started as a brief weekly update has developed into the most popular section of this website.

  1. November 27, 2016
  2. November 20, 2016
  3. November 13, 2016
  4. November 6, 2016
  5. October 30, 2016
  6. October 23, 2016
  7. October 16, 2016
  8. October 9, 2016
  9. October 2, 2016
  10. September 18, 2016
  11. September 11, 2016

See all of 2016

The Stickman weekly column is published every Sunday before 6 PM Bangkok time, which corresponds to the following times around the world:

Auckland midnight    Sydney 10 PM    London 11 AM    New York 6 AM    Los Angeles 3 AM

Each week there I feature the sort of news, views and gossip from Bangkok expat society that isn't typically covered in the mainstream press. I include the latest news, views and gossip from the expat bar areas along with bits and pieces from restaurants and eateries popular with Westerners, as well as general news and issues of interest to expats, gossip from the expat files, stuff like Bangkok escorts and even the odd bit from neighbouring countries.

Each week the column features a opening piece which can be anything from an op-ed piece to a photo essay to an interview. This is followed by a photo competition and then the emails to Stick section featuring the most interesting emails received that week. Next is the news and my views of the week's happenings in Bangkok. There is a question and answer section where you can ask questions of a legal nature which are answered by a Bangkok law firm. Some weeks there is also a girl of the week section featuring an attractive lady working in an expat bar.

To all bar, pub and restaurant owners, I am happy to help promote your establishment, especially if you are holding any special events, parties or promotions. Please get info to me before the Sunday before the event so that it makes the column in time!

Disclaimer

While this column features news, views, gossip and photos from expat bar areas, it should be noted that this is a very small part of Thailand, and insignificant to most Thais. Don't take the preponderance of coverage of Bangkok's expat bar areas to mean that that is all that this fantastic city has to offer; it is in fact just a very small part of the city. The round-up of expat bar news and gossip is a popular part of the column and I strive to cover this major part of expat society in a responsible way. As the Lonely Planet Guide to Thailand has said in a number of editions, Stickman provides a palatable look at nightlife in Thailand.

Feedback & Tips

Feedback is welcome and the most interesting emails received appear in the emails to Stick section of the column.

This website does NOT contain photos of naked women or any nudity whatsoever. If that is what you're looking for, there are plenty of Thailand-centric websites to find that. This is not one of them. Hint: try the Pattaya forums.

I appreciate tip-offs from readers about anything of interest to Westerners in Bangkok so if you are aware of anything that may be newsworthy or of interest, do drop me an email and let me know!

Archives

Browse by year, month.